BJR awards presented at Annual Congress

9 November 2021

Proud winners of the BJR awards presented at the BIR Annual Congress were:


Dr Ya Ruth Huo

The Barclay Medal

The Barclay Medal is awarded annually to the author whose contribution to BJR has been a piece of original research of special merit, contributing to the science and practice of radiology. This was presented to Dr Ya Ruth Huo and team (Concord General Repatriation Hospital Clinical School, University of Sydney, Australia) for their work on pneumothorax rates in CT-Guided lung biopsies.




Dr Meng ChenBJR/Jusha Early Career Investigator Award

The BJR/Jusha Early Career Investigator Award is given annually to a BJR author, within five years of appointment to a senior post, for the best original research paper published in BJR that year. This was presented to Dr Meng Chen and team (The First Affiliated Hospital of Soochow University, China) for their work on a deep learning-based vascular extraction and stenosis detection technique for coronary artery disease.



Dr Enrico NovelliDr Prafulla Ganguli Award

The BIR Dr Prafulla Kumar Ganguli Award is given annually to a BJR|Case reports author for the best original case report published in BJR|Case reports that year. This year the award was presented to Dr Enrico Novelli and team (University of Pittsburgh, USA) for their work on PET–MRI molecular imaging of vaso-occlusion in sickle cell disease.



British Institute of Radiology - Cookie Disclaimer

The British Institute of Radiology website uses cookies to provide you with essential online features. If you continue to use our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume you are happy to receive cookies. Please read our Cookie policy for more information.