Distinguished Service Medal

Distinguished Service Medal Winners

The Distinguished Service Medal is in the gift of the President and is awarded to an individual who has made a special contribution to the British Institute of Radiology.

Awards in 2022

Peter Hiles DSM AwardPeter Hiles was presented the DSM at the BIR Congress in September 2022  by Dr Sri Redla.  Peter is the Chair of the BIR Radiation Safety Special Interest Group (SIG) and Head of Radiation Physics at Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board. He is the organiser of the popular annual IR(ME)R update event and led the SIG in producing the hugely successful PPE project. Peter led the SIG in launching Radiation Safety Week and he led a joint project to produce Guidance on using Contact Shielding. 

Dr Redla said “Peter is an inspirational colleague and leader who works steadfastly to achieve his goals and is greatly respected and admired by his peers. Congratulations Peter!”



Nicola Strickland 2022At the inauguration of Professosr Stephen Keevil in November 2022, Dr Sri Redla presented former RCR President, Dr Nicola Strickland with the DSM. Nicola has been a loyal member of the BIR and was Chair of the BIR Clinical Imaging SIG from 2005 and 2011. She has delivered many inspirational lectures at the BIR's Annual Congress, Trainee and other events. She has always encouraged the multi-discipinary ethos of the BIR and is a strong advocate of getting involved in education through special interest groups.

Dr Redla said "Dr Strickland has been a devoted supporter of the BIR and she was an enormous inspiration to me personally as a young trainee at Hammersmith Hospital." 










DSM Holders

Year Distinguished Service Medal Winner








Mr Andy Rogers

Mr Gunter Dombrowe

Dr Elspeth Whitby

Dr Stephen Davies

Professor Roger Dale

Dr Simon Blease

Miss S Marchant

2009 Mr A C Budge
2005/06 Dr P P Dendy, Dr A M Thomas
2000/01 Mr J E Burns
1999/00 Mrs E Beckmann
1997/98 Mr G Mountford
1996/97 Dr N Trott, Dr S Osborn
1995/96 Dr D M King
1994/95 Dr T Healey
1993/94 Professor G du Boulay, Dr D S McIntosh

British Institute of Radiology - Cookie Disclaimer

The British Institute of Radiology website uses cookies to provide you with essential online features. If you continue to use our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume you are happy to receive cookies. Please read our Cookie policy for more information.