BJR Barclay Medal

The BJR Barclay Medal was founded in 1952 in memory of Dr Alfred Ernest Barclay, eminent radiologist and former President of both the BIR and its predecessor organisation, The Röntgen Society, who bequeathed a legacy for the general purposes of BJR. The Barclay Medal is awarded annually to the author, whether or not a member of the BIR, whose contribution to BJR has been a piece of original research of special merit (medical or scientific), contributing to the science and practice of radiology.

The award consists of a medal, certificate and monetary award of £500. 

Presentation of the award will be at the annual BIR's Annual Congress.

Award winner for 2015

Barclay Medal 2015

Dr Tilman Emrichhas won the Barclay medal for his paper, "Cardiac Magnetic Resonance Enables Diagnosis in 90% of Patients with Acute Chest Pain, Elevated Biomarkers and Unobstructed Coronary Arteries". 

He is picured here being presented with his award by BIR President, Andy Rogers, at the BIR Annual Congress in November 2016.


General Criteria:

  • Award consists of a Medal, certificate and monetary award of£500 presented annually
  • Recipient does NOT have to be a Member of the BIR.
  • The recipient is expected to deliver a lecture at an appropriate conference, acknowledging the award.


Previous Winners


Dr Jane Phillips-Hughes

2012 Dr Dow-Mu Koh

Dr Simon Ostlere

2010 Dr David Pilling

Professor Martin Leach

2008 Dr Alan Hufton

Dr F Gleeson

2006 Prof Steve Webb
2005 Dr David MacVicar 2004 Dr S Morcos
2003 Dr K Faulkner 2001 Professor P J Robinson
2000 Professor Peter Dawson 1999 Professor F W Smith
1998 Professor A K Dixon 1997 Professor C Metreweli
1996 Professor E Vaño 1995 Professor G H Whitehouse
1994 Dr J Law 1993 Professor Sir Peter Mansfield
1992 Professor B S Worthington 1991 Professor J R Mallard
1990 Dr J T Patton 1989 Dr J G B Russell
1988 Dr B E Kendall 1987 Dr J L Haybittle
1986 Dr D K Bewley 1985 Professor J L Fowler
1984 Dr Glyn Lloyd 1983 Professor E J Hall
1982 Professor W V Mayneord, CBE 1981 Dr H M Saxton
1980 Dr R H Mole 1979 Dr I Kelsey Fry
1978 Professor M Tubiana 1977 Professor F T Farmer
1976 Dr Roy Astley 1975 Dr Frank Doyle
1974 Professor J W Boag 1973 Dr Tikvah Alper
1972 Professor Sir David Smithers 1971 Dr G Simon
1970 Dr E E Pochin, CBE 1969 Dr M Lederman
1968 Professor G H du Boulay 1967 Professor F W Spiers, CBE
1966 Professor R E Steiner 1965 Dr J Blair Hartley
1964 Dr F G Spear 1963 Dr F R Berridge
1962 Dr F Ellis 1961 Professor L F Lamerton
1960 Dr L H Gray 1959 Dr J W D Bull
1958 Dr G M Ardran 1957 No award
1956 Dr Harris Jackson 1955 Dr F Bohatirchuk
1954 No award 1953 Dr B Donnelly


Bookmark and Share

British Institute of Radiology - Cookie Disclaimer

The British Institute of Radiology website uses cookies to provide you with essential online features. If you continue to use our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume you are happy to receive cookies. Please read our Cookie policy for more information.