BIR/Bayer Make it Better Service Award


The BIR/Bayer Make it Better Service Award.


The award will be given to the group of people who have demonstrated the best improvement in an aspect of service delivery by making it more effective, or have improved patient experience. This might be an innovative design of a piece of kit or changes to a patient pathway that has improved patient comfort or made the pathway less invasive, reduced delays or improved the environment for the patient.

Winners of the 2017 Award

The winner of the 2017 BIR/Bayer Make it Better Award is Dr Amit Bahl and his team from Bristol Cancer Institute, for developing an integrated model for delivering isotope treatments and subsequently designing and running training courses at various UK centres.

A ‘Highly Commended’ certificate was awarded to Dr Jonathan Ashmore and his team from King’s College Hospital, for their project which developed a phone app to prepare paediatric patients for an MRI Scan. The award will be presented at UKRCO in June.

Thank you to everyone who submitted their innovations. It is encouraging that there are so many new ideas and innovations to improve our service to patients.

General criteria

  • The award is open to groups of people from either an imaging department, radiotherapy department or from a medical physics department who may be either BIR members or non-members.
  • Applications MUST demonstrate that the delivery of a particular service or patient experience has improved. This may be by reducing cost, increasing throughput, by improving diagnostic quality leading to better outcomes, better infection control, higher staff or patient satisfaction or has improved comfort, or reduced motion of the patient as examples. This list is not exhaustive but is given as examples.
  • The award is in the form of a plaque and sponsorship to attend UKRC of up to £1000.

Application criteria

  • Applications must be made via the BIR’s application form and include supporting documentation which MUST include the following:
    • Identification of the need
    • What was developed
    • Resources used
    • Evidence of feedback from patients and/or staff
    • Evaluation of success of project

The funding and sponsorship for this award is provided by Bayer.

Previous Winners - read about their improvements

2016      Dr Aniket Tavare, Dr Sam Hare, Dr Dean Creer and Dr Ash Saini

2015      Dr Elspeth Whitby, Dr Marta Cohen, Dr Amaka Offiah and Dr Ashok Raghavan

British Institute of Radiology - Cookie Disclaimer

The British Institute of Radiology website uses cookies to provide you with essential online features. If you continue to use our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume you are happy to receive cookies. Please read our Cookie policy for more information.